My Dear Prince Caspian

Prince CaspianWith the second installment of the Chronicles of Narnia comes a lot of improvement visually, but I still found myself a bit detached from the story as I did in the first. I’m not sure if it’s actors, or delivery of lines or if they spent more time on special effects than rehearsing, but something’s missing.

Don’t get me wrong, the movie is good. And from a purely eye candy standpoint, Ben Barnes makes the whole thing worthwhile. I still just felt like the characters either didn’t arc very well or there wasn’t enough of a connect.

For me the biggest pleasing factor has to be Edmund’s character. I found for how little play he seemed to get his arc was best and his performance very much believable. Realizing this made me wish they’d turned the camera on Edmund more and a little less on Peter–whom they seemed to try and force us to form an opinion about or connect with right away.

So, is it a recommendation?

If you loved the first of this series, then yes, it should be a pleasant sequel which for me was at least as good if not a little better.

If you’re an avid fan of the books, you’ll probably dislike a lot that was left out, but I say let’s leave the Peter Jackson trend and make sure editing actually happens in the editing room.

Rating: B-

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

