I’m Sensing… Hilarity

I have a difficult time wanting to watch new shows on TV for one simple fact: if I like the show or if it involves a surprise ending I have to finish it out. I’m rather ashamed to admit that I had to watch American Idol all the way to the end this season because my roommate got me stuck on it and my overwhelming sense of having to know kept me going right back for more. And so while I’d seen commercials for Psych I was hesitant to start watching it because then I knew I’d have to watch the whole thing.

I finally took the plunge about two or three months ago and I’m oh so glad I did. James Roday is quite possibly the funniest man on TV. His comedic timing is, for lack of a better word, perfect. And his chemistry with Dulé Hill only helps strengthen that comedy perfection. If you’re looking for two friends getting themselves involved in all sorts of mischief, this is the show for you.

Psych is one of those rare shows that, once I watched both the first and the second seasons, I had to go back and watch it again because I found myself craving more. July 18th, the Psych season 3 premiere date, can’t come fast enough.

Dulé Hill and James Roday on Psych.Shawn Spencer (James Roday) is that guy you know who seems like he never quite grew up. His only skills involve his highly developed power of observation and the ability to charm just about anybody. His friend Burton “Gus” Guster (Dulé Hill) is his opposite in every way; he’s responsible, holds a steady job, and leans toward the more intellectual side of things. Shawn is at home in almost any situation while Gus finds himself being dragged along as an often unwitting pawn in Shawn’s crime-solving antics.

Light-hearted conflict is achieved with the introduction of Detective Carlton Lassiter (Timothy Omundson), head detective for the Santa Barbara Police Department. He takes an almost immediate disliking to Shawn while almost everybody else falls for his charming personality. The entire premise of the show is quickly implemented in the pilot when, in order to avoid being falsely arrested as an accomplice in a theft, Shawn claims he is a psychic, then promptly wows everyone but Lassiter with his “psychic ability”. He is forced to keep up the façade when the interim police chief hires him to help solve crimes and simultaneously threatens to bring charges against him if she finds out he’s lying about being a psychic.

Most of the crimes Shawn and Gus are hired to help solve involve murder in some way. In spite of that the tone of the show never dips into the morose and instead concentrates almost exclusively on Shawn’s “psychic” investigations.

There is also a female junior detective, Juliet O’Hara (Maggie Lawson) who often helps Shawn and Gus against the wishes of Detective Lassiter. Her relationship with Shawn is typical of TV: it’s apparent they are crushing on each other but nothing above innocent flirtation ever takes place.

Psych‘s first two seasons only run 15 and 16 episodes respectively. Season three is slated for a 16 episode run to begin July 18th.

If you haven’t yet seen this show you can easily find the first season on DVD; the second season will be released on July 8th, just in time for season three to begin.

Take my word for it and pick it up. You won’t regret it.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

