Heavyweight in Jericho‘s Corner

You might recall a show starring Skeet Ulrich about a small Kansas town dealing with life after a nuclear attack. If you recall that you might also remember that it was canceled, then brought back to life when fans all over the world sent literally tons of nuts to CBS headquarters. And you probably heard something about how it was canceled again.

What you may not have heard is that the show, Jericho, has at least one really big supporter.

That’s right, Hillary Clinton is joining the Save Jericho Campaign and even though I’ve never been a big fan of hers (that’s all I’m saying on the subject, no politics here) I can really get behind her on this effort.

You see, I was one of those fans who sent nuts to CBS. Why? Well, short answer: I love Jericho. Maybe it’s because I understand the small town feel of the show, being that I’m from the wide open western U.S. Maybe it’s because it had good writing, a stellar cast, and dealt with the disturbing idea of the U.S. dying a very sudden, horrible death. Maybe it’s because it’s just a good show that should have been on another network.

I really think it was one of those shows that struck a chord with the people who live in the flyover states. This was a show about small-town people facing small-town problems during a very big crisis. Off the top of my head I can’t think of any shows currently on TV that have ever really portrayed small-town people as smart and capable. I think middle America appreciated that and CBS completely ignored what could have been a big demographic for them had they played it right (sticking Jericho at 10pm on a Tuesday after Big Brother was a guaranteed failure from the start and I’m somewhat positive they knew that).

I’m sure some of you didn’t care that it was canceled or you didn’t like it and I respect that. But I loved it and want it back. So this is good news for me.

Whatever you thought about Jericho you have to admit it’s got one heckuva heavy hitter joining in on the campaign.

And for all those people who haven’t seen Jericho I’ll do a review of the whole series on DVD as soon as I can get my hands on the second season.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

