Stop Messing with my Head!

What is it with TV networks and DVD releases? I feel this is a valid question to ask for a few reasons.

First, when I buy a season of a series it’s because I like that series. I also expect to be able to own that whole series on DVD eventually. At this very moment I have had the first season of Murphy Brown for well over a year and the general consensus is that there will be no more releases. Even worse, I have the first four seasons of The Bob Newhart Show (one of my top 10 TV shows of all time) and while the company hasn’t even come out and said if they’re going to stop the releases or not, they’ve started releasing Newhart, which is leading everybody – including Bob Newhart himself – to wonder if they ever plan on releasing the last two seasons of the first show. How wrong is that?

Second, Law & Order – the whole franchise – is releasing DVDs at a pace slower than a snail in a bowl of solidified gelatin. What reason could anybody possibly have to hold up these releases? Seriously. Criminal Intent is half way through its seventh season and you can only get the first three on DVD. SVU finished up its ninth season and they’ve only managed to release up through season six. The original Law & Order finished its 18th season and you can only buy seasons 1-5 and 14. This is unacceptable when you consider I had season one of Heroes before season two premiered. Same thing with Kyle XY. Even cancelled shows are seeing DVD releases faster than one of the most beloved franchises on TV. If anybody reading this happens to have an idea of what’s going on I’d like to know because I haven’t found a thing.

Third, some networks understand that, while you might like the credits at the beginning of an episode, you really don’t want to sit through them for the whole disc and that it’s very convenient to have a chapter break right at the end of said credits. DVDs have been out for how long and there are still networks that refuse to put chapter breaks after the opening credits? Is it laziness or are the people in charge messing with us because they can?

Sorry, I just had to rant. These are some of the things that just bother me and make my DVD viewing a little less fun than it should be.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

