Fall 2008 Most Anticipated TV Shows – Dee

So with Harry Potter pushed back to July 2009, I’m not feeling terribly motivated about the upcoming movie season. Luckily, there’s some good TV to be had for entertainment in the meantime!

These are the top shows I’ve been dying to see back on the air, starting from last to first (though not saying any show is necessarily bad, after all, they made the list). I’ve only chosen seven, because that’s honestly all I’ve got time for, and barely even that (thank goodness for the internet rewind eps). Everything else I’ll probably catch on DVD much later. Anyways, here we are:

DEE’S MOST ANTICIPATED TV SHOW – FALL 2008

7. Battlestar Galactica
What? you say. Seventh? Well, simply because it won’t be gracing us with its presence until January 2009. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But there are webisodes coming out in October (1st). For those who haven’t caught on with the BSG wave, now’s as good a time as any to borrow seasons from friends, Netflix, the library, or purchase. If you’re any kind of sci-fi you’ve got to give this show a look.

6. Dexter
I hated season two. There, I said it. Lila ruined it for me. But I absolutely adored season one, and likely because they stuck to the book for the most part. With all of that being said, I’m a little eager, but a little fearful as to what we might get from season three. This is pretty much the do or die season for me. If I can’t reconnect with Dashing Dex this season, then I’m out, and I’ll just have to rewatch season one when I need a fix every now and again. (First season available on Netflix Instaview, btw). Dexter returns to Showtime Sunday, September 28th.

5. 24
Yeah, technically it returns in 2009 as well, except for some kind of “prequel” or in between seasons episode called “Exile” that will air Sunday, November 23rd. Having been to Comic-Con and seeing Carlos Bernard present made me smile. I don’t think he’ll be appearing in Exile, but you can bet your sweet bippy he’ll be in the new season. Whether or not that makes you happy… well, I’m smiling. Tony is one of my favorite characters and I’m not sure whom I like better between the two: Jack or Tony. Yeah, it’s entirely possible this may be the season the show really jumps the shark (and maybe you believe it already has). Until then, I eagerly await Jack’s return. Season 7 will resume 2009.

4. Smallville
I really think this show jumped the shark in a major way a long time ago (*cough* Lana *cough*), but I’m an avid Superman fan, and somehow I’ll be stuck with this show until it’s finally had all the life squeezed out of it. The Supergirl and Green Arrow story lines have done a lot to revive it, but I like things to go out on a high note, and hopefully this will be season finish. I guess only time will tell. Anyways, it seems the “justice league” will be back to look for Clark in the first episode. (I mean, come on, did we really believe he was “dead.”) Look for the Green Arrow, Black Canary, Aquaman and Martian Manhunter on Thursday, September 18th.

3. Heroes
A lot the same deal as Dexter, LOVED season one, did not love season two. Granted, the writer’s strike did its damage, but my faith in the show is waning. I’m hoping season three will prove we’ve still got a great show. Personally I’d like to see season two packaged with season three (to make it worthwhile buying). Look forward to seeing our Heroes back in action Monday, September 22nd.

2. The Office
I jumped on this bandwagon super late, as in this year. Thanks to Netflix Instaview, getting through the first three seasons was a piece of cake, and thanks to NBC, season four was also easily viewed. I am in absolute love with this show. Mostly I watch it for Jim and Dwight interactions, but as I’ve watched and rewatched episodes, all of the characters have something unique and fun about them. This show is so incredibly well-written. I don’t know what the whole stink was about season four (some said they didn’t like it) but maybe because I was able to watch episodes one right after the other the experience was different? I can see the series coming to its peak this season, but hopefully the writing is well-done enough we can maybe finish with six seasons? Of course, the way the execs are these days they either cancel too early or too late. ๐Ÿ˜‰ See the Office Thursday, September 25th.

And here it is, the show that won it’s way into the number one spot in my heart and that I’m dying to see most of all:

1. Pushing Daisies
I don’t know what it is about this show. Scooby Doo meets Tales from the Crypt meets Tim Burton? If you haven’t viewed the 9 episodes from last season, get on it! (See ABC for 4 of them, Surfthechannel.com for the rest in ok quality, or catch them on DVD September 16th). I think the sheer randomness of the show is what draws me to it. I love the musical side of it, Jim Dale’s narration, and for some reason come away every episode with the worst craving for pie. ๐Ÿ˜‰ This is the kind of show I’ve always wanted to see on TV and usually see get canceled before it can even get going (see Freaks & Geeks and Firefly). Luckily it made the cut and it will be back in all its delicious glory Wednesday, October 1st.

That’s it for me. Hopefully Mac will post her own anticipated list soon. Feel free to add your own shows you can’t wait to see in the comments of either of our posts. Finally, September has arrived!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

